I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Boating Safety Financial Assistance

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

States (including Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, Northern Marianas, and the District of Columbia) having a Coast Guard-approved boating safety program may apply for financial assistance. States may not receive more than one-half of the total costs incurred for their boating safety program. States must have a boating safety program as described in 46 U.S.C. 13102(c) to be eligible for a full share of the funds. National nonprofit public service organizations may apply and receive a combined total of up to 5 percent of the funds available in any 1 year.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Cost of State programs will be determined in accordance with 46 U.S.C. 13106(b) and OMB Circular No. A-87. The Federal cost principles contained in OMB Circular No. A-122 shall be used in determining costs applicable to national nonprofit public service organizations.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.